Connect with us

Latest News

Different Stages Of Disability Appeal Process



Different Stages Of Disability Appeal Process

If the application for Supplemental Security Income or Social Security disability benefits gets rejected by the SSA or Social Security Administration, you can file an appeal. Since most disability benefits applications are denied for the first time, the people who receive the benefits they deserve must go through at least one of the stages of the appeals process. 

The best part is that your benefits are retroactive if your application is denied and you win on request. The rules are unforgiving and strict, so working with a disability claims attorney is best.

Different stages of the disability appeal process

  1. The first level of appeal 

You have two months from the date of the decision on your claim to file a proposal for reconsideration. The new person will look at your disability claim, not the one involved in the initial denial.

You could file extra evidence and request an online appeal if the claim was denied for medical reasons. Suppose the disability benefits application is rejected for non-medical reasons by the SSA, like assets or income. In that case, you can apply for an online request for the non-medical judgment letter that led to denying your application benefits. 

  1. The second level of appeal 

Here too, you have two months from the notice date of the decision on your reconsideration request for a hearing by the Administrative Law Judge. If you are unsatisfied with the reconsideration results, you can contact the Administrative Law Judge to review your case and hold a hearing.

Occasionally, the hearing is in-person. Mostly, the hearings take place within 75 miles of the area you live in. Under a few circumstances, the applicant can ask for a video hearing. Since most people have used Zoom and other video conferencing platforms during the pandemic, they are comfortable with such an option and find it more convenient. 

  1. The third level of appeal 

You have two months and sometimes less from the date of notice date of the decision on your hearing by the Administrative Law Judge to file a proposal for reconsideration by the Appeals Council. The Appeals Council will look at your appeal for review and your case and decides whether the decision of the Administrative Law Judge complied with the relevant laws and regulations, and if not, they can deny your claim for a review. 

If the Appeals Council allows for a review, they will send that to the ALJ to review more or handle the review themselves. If you are not satisfied with the decision of ALJ, you can request the Appeals Council to check it themselves.


Latest News

quantum wormholes United Kingdom has potentially figured out



United Kingdom has potentially figured out quantum wormholes

Vice reports that a physicist working at the University of Bristol in the UK has potentially discovered quantum wormholes. Researcher Hatim Salih has proposed an experiment that makes a type of teleportation called “counter-transportation” realistically feasible. However, this isn’t exactly the Star Trek transporter many sci-fi fans have dreamed of over the years. Here’s everything you need to know about Salih’s quantum wormhole experiment.

Salih’s quantum wormhole is a huge scientific breakthrough.

The general theory of relativity of the famous scientist Albert Einstein affirms that hypothetical “bridges” are possible between two points in space-time. However, since 1935, when Einstein presented his theory, the existence of wormholes has been purely hypothetical. However, Salih’s experiment paves the potential way to achieve the longstanding goal of traversing a rift in space-time.

Counterportation comes from “counterfactual” and “transportation” and while similar to teleportation, the two terms are not synonymous. “Counterportation gives you the end goal of recreating an object in space,” Salih said. “[B] but we can make sure nothing happened.”

Although unfortunately, for Salih to achieve true counterportation, they’ll have to wait a few years. The quantum computers necessary to perform the task don’t exist yet in 2023. “If counterportation is to be realized, an entirely new type of quantum computer has to be built,” Salih said. However, development is underway, and Salih hopes to complete it in three to four years.

Wormholes are a classic trope of science fiction in popular media, if only because they provide such a handy futuristic plot device to avoid the issue of violating relativity with faster-than-light travel. In reality, they are purely theoretical. Unlike black holes—also once thought to be purely theoretical—no evidence for an actual wormhole has ever been found, although they are fascinating from an abstract theoretical physics perceptive. You might be forgiven for thinking that undiscovered status had changed if you only read the headlines this week announcing that physicists had used a quantum computer to make a wormhole, reporting on a new paper published in Nature.

Let’s set the record straight right away: This isn’t a bona fide traversable wormhole—i.e., a bridge between two regions of spacetime connecting the mouth of one black hole to another, through which a physical object can pass—in any real, physical sense. “There’s a difference between something being possible in principle and possible in reality,” co-author Joseph Lykken of Fermilab said during a media briefing this week. “So don’t hold your breath about sending your dog through a wormhole.” But it’s still a pretty clever, nifty experiment in its own right that provides a tantalizing proof of principle to the kinds of quantum-scale physics experiments that might be possible as quantum computers continue to improve.

“It’s not the real thing; it’s not even close to the real thing; it’s barely even a simulation of something-not-close-to-the-real-thing,” physicist Matt Strassler wrote on his blog. “Could this method lead to a simulation of a real wormhole someday? Maybe in the distant future. Could it lead to making a real wormhole? Never. Don’t get me wrong. What they did is pretty cool! But the hype in the press? 

The success of this experiment could change the field of physics forever. 

Additionally, Salih posits that this work is tantamount to the particle acceleration work at the European Organisation for Nuclear Research (CERN). “This work will be in the spirit of the multi-billion ventures that exist to witness new physical phenomena,” Salih said. “[…] But at a fraction of the resources.” 

The ultimate goal of the quantum wormhole experiment is to “explore fundamental questions about the universe,” Salih says. And if successful, the experiment could allow scientists to research “higher dimensions.” 

Continue Reading